A Retraction and Resolutions

I just got off the eliptical machine and am wondering why it’s such a killer.  I only distanced 1.6 miles and burned 221 calories, yet I feel as though I might pass out!  I had to stick my head out the door in sub-zero weather just now when I let out the dogs.  And I am still sweating profusely!

I have been feeling badly since yesterday about my bragging remark.  I just want to clarify.  I mostly feel uncomfortable with it myself.  That’s not to say that I never will share something about my kids, my husband, or even myself that has made me proud.  I just have to be really excited to toot my own horn.  It’s called personality, and mine tends to be a little neurotic in certain departments.

As for others, bragging only bothers me when it is constant and is never shared alongside any of life’s realities.  Life is not always a bag of chips and a soda.  Sometimes it’s scorching hot coffee and a burnt cinnamon roll, right?  And as for those Christmas “brag letters”…I tend to disagree with my friend in Oregon who cannot stand them.  I approach the mail box with childish enthusiasm as I anticipate each and every one at Christmas (except for the four-page, single-spaced, shoot-me-now one whose author shall remain unnamed!).

So, all of the above said, I want to talk now briefly about new year’s resolutions.  I thought a lot about mine while beaming at the colorful explosion of fireworks over our downtown the other night.  I am keeping my goals pretty simple this year.  First, I resolve to be a better mom and wife.  I recently ran across “A Child’s Ten Commandments to Parents.”  It is now posted on my fridge and serves as a set of good reminders for my parenting.  I especially try to pay attention to the “commandments” regarding nagging of kids and letting housekeeping wait.  These are two of my biggest challenges when it comes to mothering.

Second, I want to run a half-marathon this year.  I have decided that saying I want to lose weight or lose x-number of pounds isn’t working.  Hopefully the weight loss will come with working toward the race.  I am so tired of avoiding cameras and going through a million outfits, trying to find the one that makes me feel the least overweight, when I get ready to go out.  But why the half-marathon in particular?  I have always wanted to run and never had the confidence.  I am ready to prove to myself that this uncoordinated goof can be a little bit athletic.  You could say it’s part of my bucket list.

Anyhow, I’ll leave my post today with a photo of my mom’s Christmas tree platter that she made for a gathering.  I found a picture of one on Pinterest, and she replicated it.  I think it turned out very cute!  (See!  I CAN brag!) 🙂

Image

This entry was posted in Tara's Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Retraction and Resolutions

  1. Susan says:

    Your friend in Oregon sounds very wise. 🙂

  2. Anna Anderson says:

    You see, other people DO read your blog! It’s one way I can know what’s going on in your life. You are one busy mama. I do love reading about your life. You’re a great writer,Tara. I don’t know if you read these comments or your email, but I’m going to post anyway. I miss you and miss our visits. Maybe someday…

    Bill tells me when he sees you at the fitness center. Good for you! And good for you with a goal of a half marathon. Curves no longer has the 6:00 start time so I’ve had to drop out. I just can’t wait until 8:00 to begin a workout. So maybe I’ll see you at the fitness center too. Maybe we can visit briefly?

    Happy exercising,Tara. And good luck with your goal. Love, Anna

Leave a Reply

