Happy Holidays!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

I am still trying to get back to normal after a house full of company.  It was wild and wonderful all at once with my parents, sister, brother-in-law, and their two children (1 and 3 years) here.

I am ready to hibernate now that the snow is finally beginning to fall.  My family helped rearrange the front room in such a way that I now have a clear view of the woods from my couch.  All I want to do is sip coffee and watch for deer!  Not quite possible in this active home, but it’s my desire nonetheless.

When I have had a few moments to myself, I’ve started to research Valentine’s Day treats and activities.  Thinking of ways to make this holiday special always seems to get me through the post-Christmas slump.

I scooted my (extra-large) butt out the door to the gym this morning and restarted the Couch to 5K program.  We’ll see how long this morning business lasts.  It’s hard to find the motivation to get up at 5:30 now that my usual partner is out of commission.  She has been in physical therapy for about three (maybe four?) weeks now.  I refuse to find out how many pounds I’ve put on since then!

Anyhow, this morning I ran/walked 2.44 miles and shed 232 calories.  There.  Public sharing is supposed to be a self-motivator.  Hmph.  I refuse to be public about it on Facebook though.  Don’t want to either A) look like a loser because my distance and calories burned don’t measure up to others’ or B) look like a braggart.  I am finding in my older age that I highly dislike bragging and thus try not to do it too much myself.  Very few people (including myself, lately!) visit this little, overly unattended blog, so I am more comfortable sharing here.

Here is a glimpse of my Christmas.

ImageChristmas Eve service with older cousin (on right).

ImageKids had to share bed to make room for family.  Here they are in their Christmas pj’s on Christmas Eve.

And here is one of my favorite parts of Christmas…my sister and me trying out the sock bun!  We watched a youtube video after stumbling upon it through Pinterest, and then we had to try it as well.  It was worth MANY laughs, and I know she’ll kill me for posting this lovely photo.  Oh well.  I’ll try to survive!

This entry was posted in Tara's Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Holidays!

  1. Jo says:

    Nice to catch up… we may have to form an ‘A.B.C.’ club… ‘Against Bragging Club’. Give me a call if you can make breakfast some day soon.

Leave a Reply

