Fall Treats Via Pinterest

I am in love with Pinterest.  It’s a little like crack for magazine photo junkies like me!  (Is that comment in poor taste?  Probably.  But now you get the picture.  Pardon the pun.  I’ll move along…)

Anyhow, I am preparing for a progressive dinner that some friends and I are hosting tomorrow night.  My dessert ideas came from that fabulous aforementioned site.  Too bad that not all of my end products aren’t totally fabulous too! But they’ll have to pass.

I started with witch hats and broomsticks.  The hats are from Betty Crocker. They are composed of Keebler Fudge Stripe cookies turned over and topped with an unwrapped Hershey’s Kiss.  I had a lot of trouble with my store-bought cookie frosting and tubes of gel.  In the end, I wish I hadn’t bothered to make these cookies.  Not a lot of bang for my buck.

My broomsticks were made with peanut butter cookie dough, and they were inspired by Diana’s Desserts.

Here is my version of the hats and broomsticks.

Next, I was going to make chocolate-covered Oreo bat pops from The Party Animal.  They would have MAYBE looked something like this:

However, they turned into chocolate-covered Oreos with a Halloween candy plunked on top.  I was getting tired…

Finally, I made some delicious pumpkin cookies found over at House of Hepworths.  Her recipe makes quite a few cookies; be prepared to bake for quite some time if you choose to take these on!  Otherwise, I think they are a wonderful (and not too challenging) alternative to chocolate treats to make at this time of year.

Here is a peek at some of my finished delights.

Up next…pumpkin topiaries.  I made them a few weeks ago, but I am bound and determined to share them before Halloween arrives.  (Yes, I know that I only have three days left!)

This entry was posted in Food, Halloween and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fall Treats Via Pinterest

  1. alleca3 says:

    I can’t wait to try baking the pumpkin cookies! They look so good! Thanks! Callie

  2. Your pumpkin cookies look so yummy! I’m glad you trued them out!! 🙂

  3. happiestmommies says:

    Allison, this is a great recipe! Thanks for sharing it on your blog! These cookies were the ones I was most proud of yesterday. A friend came over to sample, and she ate nearly all of the pumpkin cookies I had put on a plate for her to take home (before she left!). I plan to make these at Christmas, too. They are so yummy and not too difficult for this black thumb baker!

  4. Jo says:

    Darn you Pinterest… I’ve just spent the last 40 minutes making 20 or so origami motivationa stars – merely the first thing that caught my eye that I clicked onto and then was sucked into making!! Thanks for sharing Tara, but now I’m addicted.

Leave a Reply

