My Little Princess Turns Four

We are finally catching our breath again around here after a whirlwind weekend that involved relatives and royalty.

My in-laws arrived late last week to find me finishing up my week-long project of crafting for Maggie’s party. I had purchased a downloadable princess party decoration package from a store on etsy. After several glitches with the shop and far more than promised wait time, I got the digital images and began printing, cutting, gluing, and assembling like a mad woman.

Here are some of the decorations.

I still had fresh wreaths from Christmas, so I hung “door signs” from the downloaded package (personalized to say “Happy Birthday Maggie”) in the center of each wreath and hot-glued on some foam crowns.

A friend let me borrow her tulle, and I hung some of it along with more paper decorations from the chandeliers.

I had several sets of “flags” (glued to straws) that I placed in pink glasses around the house.  I displayed the party invitation in a frame like the ones I gave each little princess in attendance.  (The “favor” frames that went home each had a crown sticker adhered to it.)  I will send a photo with each thank you note to place in the frames.

Not the greatest photo!  This is a personalized banner that says Maggie. The flowers are made of tissue paper and came in a set of three.  (Thanks again to my mother-in-law, Marsha, for assembling them!)

A simple entryway banner greeted guests.

My dear mommy friend from Oregon sent these (along with waaaaay too many other gifts!) just in time to show up as decorations at the party.  It was hard to pull them from Maggie’s grip for a day, but we both managed. 🙂  Thanks so much, Susan!

I assigned “aunties” and “adopted grandmas” to party stations around my living room, dining room, and kitchen.  Place card holders named the stations and told who was assisting at each place.

I assembled cupcake decorations the week before the party.  Marsha and I baked and frosted the cupcakes the day before.  Stitch, my horsey-dog, stole one, and Bret, my hungry husband, sweet-talked me out of one. Thus we had to make two “dummy” cupcakes out of upside-down liners and frosting in order to fill the two empty spots on the holders that a friend lent to me.  Can you tell which ones weren’t real? 🙂  (FYI–My friend reports that the darling pink cupcake towers came from TJ Maxx.)

One of the highlights of the party was the “throne” that Grandma Judy made (after I asked her to just make a floral decoration to hang above a chair!).  Like the photo above, each little girl was given the opportunity to have a photo taken with our party princess on the special chair.

Another highlight was the tutu bag given to each little princess. I had asked my mom to make one for Maggie after seeing something similar on etsy, and she wound up making one for each girl!  We handed the bags out at the beginning of the party so that the girls could carry them around and use them to collect their items from the stations.

Post-party, our fancy tote has been a wonderful place hold ballet slippers.

The party stations included nail painting/decorating with polish and stickers, princess necklace-making, crown decorating, wand decorating, hair and “glam,” and a bean bag toss into a castle (for which each girl received a tattoo).

My good friend and professional stylist, Laura, offered to give each girl an up-do.  Then another friend at the same station gave each girl some princess lipgloss (that she sent on with each girl), blush, earrings, and a ring.

This auntie was truly in her element!

Necklace making and nail decorating filled the busy kitchen table.

Look, Mom!  A princess tattoo!

Then it was time to blow out the candles…Another dear friend made a tiara cake adorned with “jewels” (dollar store rings pressed into the cake).

{YUM!}

And then…GIFTS!

Our beautiful “big princess” (a local high school student who played the part well) handed Maggie the gifts.

Brother took a break from the Bears game in the basement/dungeon to join the chaos.

It seemed as though the big girls had as much fun as the little ones!

Our supportive friend, party-perfect princess, and fearless photographer!

Whew!  We all did it!  This party was truly a collaboration of many caring people and was a bit hit as a result.  We are so grateful for all of the talent, time, and materials that friends and relatives shared to make a special memory for Maggie and her friends.

P.S.  All of the “good” photos (with great lighting, balance, creative angles, and different effects) in this post were taken by the talented young photographer pictured above.  Thanks again to this wonderful girl!  The rest (poor lighting, fuzzy, etc.) were taken by me. 🙂

This entry was posted in Birthday Parties, Crafts, Kids' Activities, Tara's Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Little Princess Turns Four

  1. Susan says:

    Oh my gosh that is so cute! And tons of work! The decorations are adorable as always and I love the bags. Great job! You must be exhausted!

  2. Pingback: First Birthday Decorations « Happiest Mommy on the Block

Leave a Reply

