Last-Minute Thanksgiving Crafts

The kids are always begging me to do crafts.  So today when the weather was dreary and the kids were antsy, we pulled together some last-minute Thanksgiving crafts.

I found the idea for the first craft, painted turkey hands, at McCurdy McMemos.

I had the kids stamp their hands on some blank cards I had sitting around, and I plan to send them out tomorrow to grandparents who live far away.

We used poster paint and made sure we had five paint brushes before beginning so that I wouldn’t have to keep rinsing.  Obviously, I did the painting and drew on the details.  I wrote the poem suggested McCurdy McMemos on the inside, and Maggie signed her name below.

The second craft came from enchantedlearning.com.  We modified the turkey to include just two handprints.  Neither the kids nor I had the patience to cut out more!  I especially liked this activity because it uses tracings of hands and feet.  It would be great to do this again next year and compare sizes.

Gobble gobble!

This entry was posted in Crafts, Kids' Activities, Seasons, Tara's Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Last-Minute Thanksgiving Crafts

  1. Jo says:

    Thanks for this great and quick craft idea. Ally, Mark and I managed to help Ally make a lovely Thanksgiving card last night with her handprint on the front. Her teacher simply loved it.

  2. happiestmommies says:

    What a great idea, Jo! I never thought about making one for Maggie’s teacher. So surprised that you didn’t get all your girls to make one. Ha! The hardest part was getting the kids to hold their hands still once they were in contact with the paper.

  3. Jo says:

    Tell me about it – Ally not only moved her pinky finger, so it looked like a fat feather – lol, but she couldn’t relax her palm, so I ended up having to paint the center of it.

  4. Pingback: Decking the Halls, the (Gingerbread) House, etc. « Happiest Mommy on the Block

  5. Tera says:

    When I saw this post, I said this would be awesome to do with the kids for Thanksgiving!

  6. Pingback: La barna dine male med hendene, resultatet blir helt fantastisk! - Kreative Idéer

  7. Pingback: 11 Thanksgiving Crafts Your Kids Will Love

  8. Pingback: Simple Thanksgiving Crafts For Kids

  9. Pingback: 12 creative Stamp and Print crafts - Cheer and Cherry

  10. Pingback: Last Minute Kids Thanksgiving Crafts - Seven Alive

  11. Pingback: Thanksgiving Crafts for Kids - Keeping In Touch

Leave a Reply

