Dear Grandma…

I have been absent from my blog nearly all summer, so I am going to kill two birds with one stone (hate that saying) and post a letter I just wrote to my two grandmas. I sent it to my dad via email and asked him to print off a copy for each grandma.  It pretty much sums up recent life, minus details about specific events of the summer. What follows is not my best writing…Forgive me! 🙂

Dear Grandma,

Hi! I thought about writing a letter in the mail, but I decided that I could get to you much faster through Dad.

I hope that this letter finds you cool! Like Missouri, it has been hot here. However, this morning we woke up to a cold, windy day. We almost had to cancel swim lessons. A college freshman comes and teaches my kids how to swim on Monday mornings. It’s been a lot of fun because the kids are learning so much. (Maggie goes under water now!)

Guess what! Bret and I just bought half of a pig from the fair. It was 295 pounds, so we got a lot of bacon, some pork chops and pork steaks, sausage, a couple of pork tenderloins, and a HUGE ham. We have already tried some bacon and pork chops, and they were soooooooo good. I love being able to “shop” for meat in my basement freezer!

The kids are doing very well. Walt is talking constantly now, and we understand about half of what he says. He finally says “Maggie” instead of “Maggin” (which is what he used to say). He also goes around saying, “Bad boy!” to everyone. I’ve never said that to him, so it’s really embarrassing! I’m sure everyone thinks I am Mother of the Year.

Walt has the cutest expressions, so it’s hard to say no to him. He never says “yes” to us; he always replies “yeeup” really slow, like an old farmer. And he wants to do everything his sister does, including when Maggie puts on her princess costumes and tutus. Thus he wears a lot of sparkly pink and purple — much to his father’s dismay.

Lately, Walt has been taking his clothes off in bed. I’ll go to get him out of his crib, and he’s missing his shirt or pants or both. I am waiting for him to take off his diaper and make a huge mess!

Maggie is quite a character too! She is Walt’s boss, trying to put him in time out and telling him what to do (or not to do) all the time. She loves books. She takes at least five to bed every night. She also loves to look at herself in the mirror (or the oven door, or the sliding glass door, or any other reflective surface) while she dances and sings. She dresses up all the time, and her favorite costumes are princess dresses.

Maggie takes gymnastics lessons on Monday nights, and this fall she’ll take dance. She and Walt will also be in a music class on Saturdays.

Maggie is definitely Daddy’s girl, while Walt only wants me. She almost refuses to wear anything but dresses, and we go around and around about what she’s going to wear during the day and at bedtime. I think she gets her stubbornness from me! She is definitely ready for pre-school; she’ll start Monday, September 13th, and she’ll go four days a week.

Bret is counting down the days till he goes fishing in Alaska. He’ll be gone for just over a week. I am sure it will be the longest week of my life!

Bret is gone a lot, but he always tries to make it home to have dinner with us or at least help get the kids ready for bed. My favorite time of the day is when we are together to read to the kids. We take turns. He reads one night while I sit nearby, and I read the next. We also take turns putting each kid to bed. Of course Maggie always wants her dad and Walt always wants me, but we switch each night anyway!

Did you hear that we got a trailer? It is about 31 feet long, and it has bunk-beds in the rear for the kids. We have been camping three times this summer, and we have three more trips planned before the end of the year. We mostly go about an hour north of here with friends to a family-friendly campground. My favorite part of camping is coffee around the campfire in the morning, and s’mores around the fire at night. The kids LOVE camping. We take their ride-on toys, and they play with their friends the whole time.

I wish I could lose some weight, I wish I saw my husband more, and I wish I could be a better mom, but things are pretty good here for the most part. The hardest part about living here is being so far from our family. I especially wish the kids could be closer to you so they could get to know you better. But we’ll continue to make the most of our visits to Missouri. In the meantime, I have lots of pictures and stories to tell them about you!

I look forward to seeing you this fall when I visit again! We love you!

Take care,

Tara

P.S. Here is a photo of Bret and me that was taken before we went to a dinner this past weekend.

This entry was posted in Tara's Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dear Grandma…

  1. Laura says:

    Tara,

    I know your grandparents will love this. I enjoyed it so much, so thanks for sharing. I really enjoy our friendship and this letter reminds me why we need each other to get through these wonderful but challenging years. Thanks for being YOU! 😉

  2. happiestmommies says:

    Oh, Laura…You bring tears to my tired eyes. I am drinking my coffee this morning and trying to get motivated for the day; your kind words and the caffeine are helping me get there! Back at you, by the way: Thanks for being YOU!

  3. Jo says:

    I wish that the three of us could catch up more often. I feel a bit out of touch with both of you. I’m not sure if it’s just the summer madness, my personality, having this third child or not having a trailer that has contributed to this.
    I love reading your blog Tara and are constantly amazed by your talents.
    I wish the three of us could all go off for a spa weekend and really get a chance to relax in each other’s company.

Leave a Reply

