Kitchen’s Done; Time to Play!

I recently made cones like the following ones with the Happiest Mommies and Friends group at our meeting.  I had left-over materials and have been itching to make more.  So after the kids went down for a nap, I cleaned the kitchen and threw in a load of laundry.  And as my reward for working sooooooo hard (NOT!), I made more cones to give as gifts.  It was difficult to overlook the hundreds of more important tasks I should have been doing, but I persevered!

The pumpkins, leaves, grassy material, and pipe-cleaners (handles) came from Wal-Mart, and the body of each cone is a wallpaper sample.  A friend of mine was given three books of samples to use for her play group, and she passed along some of the more elegant sheets to me.

I ran out of the ribbons purchased for the meeting, so I used bits of black, orange, and green that I had stuffed in my personal ribbon drawer.  I love using my stashed, recycled items for craft projects like these.  This is something my mom always did when she was making decorative items for our house and gifts for coworkers or friends’ birthdays.  It seems like projects always turned out more special, more beautiful as a result of using something unexpected.  A great lesson learned from good ol’ Mom!  (I just wish I had listened when she tried to teach me to sew and cook as well!)

Here are some images of the cone I made for myself (the metal-edged “31” tag), two monogrammed tag cones for friends, and one for my husband’s office (“hello” tag).

DSC05091

DSC05093

DSC05095

DSC05098

This entry was posted in Crafts, Decorating, Halloween, Seasons, Tara's Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kitchen’s Done; Time to Play!

  1. Heidi says:

    Those are fabulous! Yes…I’m addicted to making cones. I have them hanging everywhere, and love to tuck candies and treats in them.
    Thanks for stopping by, and for sharing!
    xo Heidi

Leave a Reply

