Happiest Mommies: Some of the Happiest Leaders

My friend, Laura, called today to say that she wants to start an official play group for the public under the umbrella of  a group we started about 1 1/2 years ago, Happiest Mommies and Friends.  I am so proud of her!  She already runs a salon out of her home (small business owner–quite impressive!) and has no background in early childhood education.  But passion guides her.  Let me tell you, her lofty goals are infectious! 

In fact, I am feeling pretty good about all of the things that my friends and I have been doing to better the community.  We have ignited fires in one another by supporting each other in our endeavors, especially since the success of the Mom 2 Mom Sale.  It’s so exciting to find out that deep down, we can do more than we might have previously expected of ourselves.  Side-by-side, we have grown as leaders.  

MOPS begins next week, and I am more confident now about my role of coordinator than I was mid-summer.  One mom called today and put me on cloud nine.  I told her that I hadn’t expected her to join MOPS again this year.  Her response?  “You are so creative and organized.  I just had to be a part of it because you are leading.”  Or something to that effect!  I thought to myself, “Maybe I really can do this!” 

Another friend, Jo, has stepped up to the plate in her roles within P.E.O. and Community Table (another Happiest Mommies activity).  She put together an entire yearbook for P.E.O. (she is soooooooo tech-savvy), and she is doing an awesome job of recruiting workers for Community table. Way to take the bull by the horns!  She doesn’t know it yet, but she’ll also be producing the monthly MOPS newsletter using her slick On-line and Publisher skills.

We are each only moms and wives living in a little town in a little corner of the world.  And perhaps what we’ve done and what we plan to do won’t count for much in the minds of most people.  Doesn’t matter though.  We are becoming better role models for our kids, and we are improving the place where our children will grow up.  

Yup.  On fire.  What’s next?

This entry was posted in Tara's Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happiest Mommies: Some of the Happiest Leaders

  1. Brandy says:

    Glad to see that your Mom 2 Mom sale was such a hit. I was so happy to see you this summer. I hope all is well in your corner of the world…it sure seems like it is just perfect.

Leave a Reply

