Salad in a Jar!

I attended a lovely ladies’ luncheon today at the Center for the Arts, and the star of the meal was a salad in a jar!  Each person was given a vintage-style square jar (apparently purchased at Hobby Lobby) with a ribbon tied in a bow just below the lid.  The contents of the jar was a layered salad, including the dressing. Each diner was instructed to shake her jar and then “pour” it on her lunch plate.  

I scoured the internet when I returned home today, hoping to find a link to the idea and recipe to display in my post.  No luck though.  Here are the ingredients, from what I can recall…

  • crumbled cornbread
  • lettuce
  • shredded chicken
  • cashews
  • diced red and yellow bell peppers
  • diced red onion
  • grated white cheddar cheese
  • dressing made of sour cream, mayo, and ranch mix

The B and B owner who served this meal said that you should build your salad in layers in the jar the night before you plan to serve it.  A similar layered salad recipe I ran across gave these directions: “Put half the cornbread, then 1/2 of above mixture (lettuce through cheese), then 1/2 dressing, then repeat. Refrigerate overnight.”

The jar looked like the one pictured below and (I think) held 32 ounces.  I couldn’t find any for sale on the internet, so it looks like I might have to make a trip to Hobby Lobby.  Sigh.  I am soooooooooo disappointed to have to shop!

51Q+ak6Kl-L._AA260_

This entry was posted in Food, Tara's Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Salad in a Jar!

  1. Susan says:

    That’s pretty interesting. I’m impressed you have all these domestic diva opportunities so often. I find I’m struggling to find something that would be interesting to report. I did take a picture of my scrap night, but it just looks like a messy table…not too diva.

Leave a Reply

