Cupcakes and Playpens…Mommy of the Year?

Jessica Seinfeld has done it.  Deceptive and delicious.  

I have finally gotten around to making a few things from a cookbook that suggests hiding pureed fruits and veggies in otherwise normal foods.  (Go here to see my first post about Seinfeld’s cookbook.)  Anyhow, I made mashed potatoes with cauliflower puree, macaroni and cheese with cauliflower puree, and peanut butter and jelly muffins with carrot puree. All were slickly placed on the table without warning about the hidden ingredients. All were lapped up (by some, and at least tried by others).  

My daughter thinks she’s been eating cupcakes (the carrot muffins) for breakfast the last two days.  Carrots haven’t passed her lips since she was about nine months!  Even Walt likes my sneaky food.  He ate a huge helping of the mac and cheese last night!  I personally liked all three items, although the muffins are my favorite so far.

Here are the “cupcakes” with my helper in the background.  By the way — yes, I jail my son sometimes in his playpen in order to get things done. Bad mommy.

dsc03806

This entry was posted in Food, Tara's Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cupcakes and Playpens…Mommy of the Year?

  1. Susan says:

    Very sneaky and effective! Who doesn’t understand the playpen jail? It’s a necessity. When you want to feel like a bad mommy when they are a little older, you will use the television. Then you will be able to scold yourself all over again.

Leave a Reply

