Summer Dinner by the Garden

I just submitted the following application for a local event: Festival of Tables 2009 hosted by Memorial Medical Center Volunteers.  Here is my letter and accompanying images.  Any advice for changing the table or how to decorate the chairs?

Hello,

I am writing to submit my application for the Festival of Tables.  I am not much of a cook, but I love to put together table settings for friends’ dinner parties and those that I host at home with the help of take-out .  (Ha–so true!)  

Last summer I designed a table setting for a dinner that was auctioned off at my P.E.O. chapter’s annual fundraiser.  The dinner was a hit with the couples who purchased the special evening event. Thus I would like to use the same table setting for the Festival of Tables.

The theme of my table setting will be “Summer Dinner by the Garden.” Birds, fresh flowers, personalized menus and place cards, and lanterns will be central to the table setting, as you can see in the attached photos.  I may change a few details, but much of what you see in the images will be the same.

I have a couple of questions for you regarding my entry.  Will I need to set the table for six or eight?  Will basic black or white cloths be available, or should I plan to provide the base table cloth?  Will most entries decorate the chairs as well?  If this is expected, could you describe the shape of the back of the chair that will be used?  Perhaps even send me measurements for the width and height from seat to the top of the back?

Thanks for considering my table setting.  I am happy to help with anything regarding the Women’s Imaging Center!  However, you will not hurt my feelings if you need to decline my entry because the table is not elaborate enough. I have two small children and little creative time lately; perhaps when they are older I can come up with something more unique rather than copying something I did in the past.

I look forward to hearing from you and cannot wait to attend this event — as an exhibitor or guest!

Sincerely,

Tara Autrey

dsc030614
dsc030542
dsc030572
P.S.  I have tried more than ten times to separate the above pictures without success.  So sorry!
This entry was posted in Decorating, Seasons, Table Settings, Tara's Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Summer Dinner by the Garden

  1. Joy says:

    Lovely! Good luck!

  2. Brandy says:

    Holy wow, Tara! I sincerely hope you are not concerned with it not being “elaborate”. It is just beautiful.

  3. Susan says:

    Very nice showing.

  4. Jo Kalchik says:

    Where oh where do you get the time, let alone the energy – you always amaze me Tara… meanwhile, we were up from 2 AM with Ally, no doubt ~ not wanting to go to sleep ~ she finally fell asleep around 7 AM. Poor ole Cassey will probably be the best adjusted child around, being able to sleep through screaming and bellowing. Thus, I’m going to keep a low profile today, and perhaps the rest of eternity.
    Oh what joys motherhood brings!
    x

  5. Pingback: Mad Housewife « Happiest Mommy on the Block

Leave a Reply

