Grammar’s in the Gutter

As a stay-at-home-mom, I have increasingly noticed my grammar skills heading toward the gutter.  “Got your shoes?”  I’ll ask my two-year-old. Or, heading out the door, I’ll yell to my husband, “I just need to make a bottle real quick.”  

Now, I am not saying that I have ever had a stellar vocabulary or a complete set of grammar rules burned into my head.  However, as the co-editor of the newspaper in high school I was known to hold the paper before going to press because of small grammatical or typographical errors that no one else would have noticed.

Enter Copy Blogger!  I just stumbled upon this fabulous blog that answers many of my word-usage questions.  (This site is really all about copywriting with some great tips for the rest of us.)  Is it afterwards or afterward?  Towards or toward?  Compliment or complement?  The authors writing of this site really have grammar game!  (So says the girl who has stacks of unread books about the mechanics of writing under her bed.)

I wonder if this site can clarify a phrase question with which I’ve always wrestled:  Is it “I could care less” or “I couldn’t care less?”  I have always argued for the latter — especially since getting a lecture on this topic back in high school from my good friend Doug (the smartest guy I knew at that point — and, other than my husband, still is).

Well, it’s time to go back to my of world changing diapers and wiping snotty noses.  I got a lot of snotty noses around here.  Ouch!

This entry was posted in Tara's Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grammar’s in the Gutter

  1. Brandy says:

    I think grammar and usage is getting worse by the day, Tara. If my students say one more time “my bad” or use the term “mines” to claim something as their own, I will seriously have to be admitted to the looney bin.

  2. Susan says:

    ‘Sup. What up wit dat?

Leave a Reply

