Easter’s Gifts

Yesterday I had a lovely Easter.  Bret and I had breakfast with the kids and then took them to church.  Afterwards, we dined at a local restaurant with another family from church.  Then we all came home to nap.  We ended the day by going to a park on the lake.  It was a little nippy, but we truly enjoyed being outside near the gorgeous water with the late sun reflecting on its soft, deep blue waves.  The kids repeatedly enjoyed the swings and the slide, and Bret and I snapped several memorable pictures.  

Later last night, Bret and I watched “Fireproof.”  I have to say that the acting was horrible (we nearly turned it off after five minutes), but the point of the movie made an impression upon Bret and me: carry out your marriage vows through a relationship with God and one another. The movie was a good “shot in the arm” and certainly appropriate viewing material for Easter.

You know, regarding “Fireproof’s” subject matter, I have to admit that I have always felt like talking about religion was taboo.  I usually worry that others will think I am a religious zealot — no matter how little or how much I approach the subject.  I think it’s because my family never approached the subject in my home growing up.  I never heard either of my parents pray our loud, and we rarely attended church together.  I wonder what they think about God and what will happen when death nears?  I think/hope we hold the same beliefs…

The pastor’s message at church yesterday certainly made me consider my belief system too.  Pastor Carlson talked about not needing to fear death because Jesus died for our sins.  He shared an illustrative story about a family driving down the interstate with the car windows down.  A bee flew in, and the little girl in the back seat became frantic because she was allergic to bees.  Her father grabbed the bee in his fist and held tight till the bee stung him.  In response to the pain of the sting, he released his clutch.  The little girl became upset again as the bee flew in her direction. But the father said, “Don’t worry, the bee has already stung me.  He can’t hurt you now.”  Although Jesus suffered so much more on the cross — an unbearable amount of pain — this story parallels the meaning of Easter: Jesus suffered for our sins, or took the “sting” for us, so that we may all live without the fear of death.  When we accept Jesus’ gift, we can look forward to eternity in heaven.  Certainly food for thought in such an uncertain world.

We are back to frost this morning.  It was so lovely yesterday to get a glimpse of spring and a gentle reminder of all the gifts the season has to offer.

This entry was posted in Easter, Seasons, Tara's Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

