There’s No Place Like Home…Right?

Just a quick note to anyone viewing the blog and wondering whether Susan and I forgot about our on-line meeting spot…My family is in town from Missouri, and we have been busy chasing three children around what has become my zoo-home. My mom, sister, and I have also been creating a banner, flags, and cupcake decor for my nephew’s sock monkey themed first birthday party. I’ll post images of these items soon!

Susan is busy hammering out chapters for a young adult novel she’s working on. And she’s about to throw me off the ship for not responding to her latest three chapters! (The zoo is really restless, and I’m severely tired, Susan!)

On another note, I hopped onto my MSU email today to find out that a former colleague was a runner-up for an award in education technology. I am so happy for her, but I cannot deny that there is a little lump in my throat — a queasiness that makes me wonder, “What if…?”  You see, I helped that same girl get into Red Cedar Writing Project, I was with her at some of her early tech classes, and, like her, I had a class blog and was doing podcasting with my students when I was still teaching. When I was still teaching. When I was still teaching.  I can’t help but wonder: What if I was still teaching?

I am happy to be at home, I am happy to be at home, I am happy to be at home…

This entry was posted in Tara's Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to There’s No Place Like Home…Right?

  1. Jo Kalchik says:

    I hear you Tara. I’ve actually been catching up on reading your Blog over the last few weeks, as I’ve really been missing you lately. I just want you to know how I’m am in awe of how much you seem to accomplish, and wish I could be more like you.
    Love Jo.

  2. happiestmommies says:

    You are too kind, Jo! Thanks for your sweet words. I miss you too…and, unfortunately, we’re only going to see less of each other once your second precious little girl comes along. We’ll have to look forward to long stroller talks and walks along the beach this summer!

  3. Brandy says:

    I think it goes both ways, Tara. While I particularly enjoy my students this year, sometimes I cannot help but to think about what I am missing as McKenna grows. I guess the grass always does seem to be greener.

  4. happiestmommies says:

    You’re right, Brandy! I do always wonder what I might be thinking if I worked full time while raising two kids close in age. I do not have much help from my husband because of his job now, and that would be no different even if I worked outside of the home. Life IS always skewed by perspective (or what side of the pasture you’re on)…Thanks for reminding me.

  5. Anna Anderson says:

    Tara, I just read your blog with reference to your teaching. My dear, as my husband once told me many, many years ago, “there’s no more important job than taking of our children and keeping my home running smoothly.” He was in his first college presidency at the time, I was a new mom to three half-grown children (his) 8, 11 and 13 and all MY friends were in “paying” jobs. Believe me, in retrospect, I am so grateful I was able to stay home with my children. And look at all you do for your friends! My goodness, most people would pay big money to have someone put on baby showers, birthday parties, and decorate their homes like you do. Chin up, my love. I think you’re one terrific mother and friend. Love, Anna

  6. happiestmommies says:

    Anna, you are always full of wisdom. Thank God you showed up on my front porch two-and-a-half years ago! While I think you exaggerate the things I do, I am grateful for your encouragement. I guess we all need a “Good job!” every once in a while, and there were many of those in teaching. But in my situation, the laundry and the kids don’t offer up too many accolades. I guess I just need to look for them elsewhere, or gather them up when I notice my kids’ growth and well-being. And I DO need to remember — as I’ve discussed before on the blog — that I am doing one of the most important jobs in existence.

  7. Susan says:

    I’m sorry that I have not been the contributor I would like to be. I am finding it difficult to find a creative craft to post that would be of interest. Any time you worry about what you are accomplishing remember that you found yourself when you Googled!

  8. Happiest Daddy on the Block says:

    My dear Tara, I think that you are doing a WONDERFUL job with our kids, our house and our community! I know that sometimes you wish to be teaching again, but I thank God every day for you and the wonderful job that you are doing with our children. I guess that you need to hear that from me a little more.

Leave a Reply

