Deceptive and Delicious? We’ll See…

 

Today I read Jessica Seinfeld’s cookbook, Deceptively Delicious. Her concept (not new) is to hide veggies in your family’s food. I decided I needed this cookbook because:

a) My husband holds these truths to be self-evident:

  • any meal without meat isn’t really a meal
  • corn is the only edible vegetable

b) The book was too cheap to pass up–$7.99 at T.J. Maxx!

I look forward to making several purees to sneak into my family’s food. Fortunately, that part is old hat since I made baby food for both of my kids.

Hopefully we’ll all be healthier as a result of my sleuth cooking. Apparently, we are all supposed to be getting five servings of fruits and veggies each day. Who knew? (Again–sorry, Mom.)

Tonight I made Aaron’s pork and rice recipe found on his Number 34’s Blog. The rice was fabulous, while the pork was a little dry. I think I’ll back off on the browning and cooking times when I make it again. I served the pork chops and (brown) rice with steamed broccoli and butternut squash soup. Well, the soup was supposed to come before the meal. But Hubby was two and a half hours late, so everything was served together. Lukewarm.

Anyhow, that Aaron really gets this cooking thing! I’ve made his tortilla soup (yum!) too. He has great suggestions for making recipes “your own,” and his directions are easy to follow.

I must admit that I kind of enjoyed making applesauce and prepping for dinner during the kids’ nap times today.  Yes, priorities are completely different these days.  Can I admit that I enjoy the pursuit (and production) of a deceptive meal?  Notice I didn’t say “delicious.”  Baby steps.

This entry was posted in Food, Tara's Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deceptive and Delicious? We’ll See…

  1. Carrie says:

    How are your recipes working out? We’ve made a few with Jacob and he never had a clue! 🙂 Looking forward to seeing you on Sunday!

  2. Pingback: Cupcakes and Playpens…Mommy of the Year? « Happiest Mommy on the Block

Leave a Reply

