What kind of mommy am I?

I want to be perfect.  I know this thought sounds like a silly thing to say and honestly, I don’t think I could speak the words.  In type, it’s not that hard to admit (even though I know the world can read it—all 3 of you who read this blog.)  Perfection for me has nothing to do with what I look like, obviously.  I would in no way say that my appearance is what I strive for in perfection.  It’s the mommy world that I have set this goal for myself.  I’m going to go out on a limb and say that most mommies do.  We all probably tell ourselves that we know we can’t be perfect, but the desire is still there.  This is why we overbook our schedules, overwork our jobs, and over clean our homes in our everyday life.  Sure, it may not all get done like we had imagined, but isn’t that still the focus?  Or is it just mine? 

So why would I make my debut article on “Happiest mommies” about this quirk of mine?  I think it helps with the understanding of me.  I also think it’s a huge challenge for the mommies of today.  It almost seems expected to juggle a million things or people wonder what you are doing.  I have a new situation in the mommy-world because I am the “out of the house” worker while my husband takes on the household duties.  This is a new thing for us and it sometime clashes with my perfection idea.  I try to take that in stride and not set up too many tasks for him to complete as I try to mold him into the perfect daddy in mommy-world (he’s already pretty darn good.)  It also lends itself to having to cram in all the mommy things I want to do into the weekends to keep up the pride of perfection. 

This perfect thing is always in the back of my mind when I am coming up with a new craft, designing a party, or going to work every day.  Sometimes I will take on tasks that are too big and sometimes I get overwhelmed.  There are days when I have to give up a project because I realize it’s taking me away from my first responsibility, my children.  But I also know that I have to keep all these other projects in my life because I accept that is who I am.  I enjoy the challenge of throwing several balls in the air and masterfully keeping them moving in the circle motion.  I get a re-charge whenever I’m losing steam when someone else tells me “I don’t know how you do it all.”  So I will stay on the bumpy road to perfection, knowing it’s a destination that does not exist.  Why?  Because this is the type of mommy I am and this life is what makes me the happiest mommy.

About Susan

Obsessed with writing, baking, and Mikel Jollett. Not necessarily in that order all the time. http://breakingbooks.wordpress.com/ http://delishoregon.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Susan's Sayings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What kind of mommy am I?

  1. happiestmommies says:

    I receive the “I don’t know how you do it all!” comment often from people after I’ve made a small craft for them or helped decorate tables for P.E.O. I always reply that if I didn’t do it, I would go insane. My little moments of creativity are certainly an ingredient in the fuel that keeps me going.

    In fact, I gave a couple of friends Valentine’s Day gifts yesterday with made up of a few small trinkets and a stiff felt heart tag that I stitched and personalized. When they told me that I “didn’t need to do that,” I replied, “Oh yes I did!” I shared that putting together those gifts was actually a selfish act; I wanted a reason to make the tags!

    For me, the “fun projects” also balance out the things I have to do with my job that I hate and cuss. Every time I pick up my husband’s socks or underwear, do my tenth load of laundry, etc., I want to explode and yell, “I did not go to college for this!” And let me tell you, these are parts of my job that I DO NOT do well. Even if I did, no one would say, “Hey, those socks are really white! Good job washing them!” These are the moments when I am farthest from the “Happiest Mommy on the Block” and nowhere near perfection!

Leave a Reply

