It Won’t Be Like This For Long

Hmmm…so much to say lately about my little life in my corner of the world.  I have been feeling like I need to do something more creative, something more structured.  I need something…more.  

My good friend Susan pointed out that she’s not surprised–I went from working full time outside the home approximately two years ago to staying at home and having two babies without hardly taking a breath.  My world was turned upside down in so many ways–moving to a new town, buying a different home, leaving friends and trying to gain new ones, a change in job status, and becoming a mom.  

I think I’ve finally stopped reeling from my two year roller coaster ride and am wondering, “Now what?  What adventure will I go on next?”

A business opportunity became available recently, and that made me do a great deal of thinking too.  My sweet, sweet father called and offered to loan me the money to start the business.  He commented that I “needed something to do.”  I wanted to laugh, and I even felt a little offended at first.  But then I realized that he has some inkling of what I have been feeling.  He recognized my desire for something beyond my stay-at-home-mom status.  (And how could he not see this; I posted pictures of making applesauce on a blog, for goodness’ sake!)

So I pondered my options, and thoughts swirled in my head until I could no longer take it (or the kids, whom I’d been alone with most of the day).  I left Bret with the children at home and went grocery shopping on Sunday night.  I know this sounds UTTERLY CHEESY, but I heard a song in the car on the way there that helped ground and redirect me.  

Darius Rucker, former lead singer for Hootie and the Blowfish (the band whose hit song Bret and I danced to all night on our first date), came on the radio singing “It Won’t Be Like This For Long.”  Here are the lyrics:

Darius Rucker
It Won’t Be Like This For Long lyrics copied from lyricsmode.com

It won’t be like this for long
One day we’ll look back laughing
At the week we brought her home
This phase is gonna fly by
So baby, just hold on
It won’t be like this for long                   

Four years later, ’bout 4:30
She’s crawling in their bed
And when he drops her off at pre-school
She’s clinging to his leg
The teacher peels her off of him
He says, “What can I do?”
She says, “Now, don’t you worry
This’ll only last a week or two”

It won’t be like this for long
One day soon you’ll drop her off
And she won’t even know you’re gone
This phase is gonna fly by
If you can just hold on
It won’t be like this for long

Someday soon she’ll be a teenager
And at times, he’ll think she hates him
And he’ll walk her down the aisle
And raise her veil, 
But right now she’s up and cryin’
And the truth is that he don’t mind
As he kisses her goodnight
And she says her prayers

He lays down there beside her
Till her eyes are finally closed
And just watching her it breaks his heart
‘Cause he already knows

It won’t be like this for long
One day soon that little girl is gonna be
All grown up and gone
And this phase is gonna fly by
So he’s trying to hold on
It won’t be like this for long
It won’t be like this for long

Anyhow, as you can imagine, this song reminded me that I have been blessed with one of the most prized gifts any mother could ask for: I get to stay home with my babies.

And if I were to purchase a business, I would feel pressured to spend many hours on it–hours that I won’t get back after my kids are grown.  

So, if not that business, then what is my next ride?  

I am still throwing around the idea of doing resale of children’s clothing and home decor on Ebay.  This could be accomplished with only a few initial dollars and some “products” that I have already collected.  I could do this at my leisure, mostly from home.  

Otherwise, I am happy to write on my blog from my little corner of the world, make homemade applesauce, host gatherings with friends, and get involved with the Pink Christmas committee.  (They’ve invited me to a meeting on Thursday!  YEAH!!!)

Most of all, I am happy to watch my children grow through my own eyes in my very own home.  As messy and frustrating and mind-mushing as this mommy career sometimes feels, unfortunately it truly won’t be like this for long.

dsc034671

This entry was posted in Tara's Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It Won’t Be Like This For Long

  1. Susan says:

    You write of a concern that all mothers feel. How could we want something more when we are blessed with something so many don’t have? It’s a struggle of feeling selfish for something individual when we are now part of a family. Even if there is a job to go to in the morning, it’s doesn’t necessarily fill the hole, even when it fills the time. I think it’s the riddle of motherhood and realizing how important it is to solve it. When you find the answer, let me know. For now, I have to solve the mystery of why my son is not wearing pants.

  2. happiestmommies says:

    I can’t even respond in a serious way due to your last line. Now THAT is something to wrestle with. I shouldn’t worry about my mommy lot in life; I should be worrying about my kids’ no-pants stage!

Leave a Reply

