Keeping My Cool Under Ear-Shattering Circumstances

Even though I am far from Ludington right now–in Missouri with family, actually–I feel like I need to dive into this blog and break the ice for myself and others.  So, being a typical (?) mommy, I would like to take a moment to vent. 

Maggie, my 1 + year old, has yet another ear infection.  We are facing tubes when we return to Michigan in one week.  In the meantime, the second round of antibiotics she’s on might as well be water.  They have done nothing to resolve Maggie’s current infection. 

So what was meant to be a happy visit with my parents and sister and brother-in-law and their new baby is turning into a nightmare.  I am certain that my family secretly thinks that I am raising a spoiled brat because Maggie is so clingy and cries at the drop of a hat.  And speaking of dropping things, she keeps weilding toys over the edge of her high chair and flings anything else anyone gives her if it doesn’t suit her current mood.  I swear that this is not my normal child. 

To make matters worse, I am at the end of my rope with my daughter.  I know she’s in pain, but her incessant crying is making me feel EXTREMELY cranky.  Perhaps it also has something to do with the fact that Maggie has been up most of the night during the last several nights.  Lack of sleep doesn’t wear well on me; I am losing my will to offer sympathy to my poor daughter–this little person who has no control over her pain or my amount of sleep. 

Anyhow, I can only hope that next time we see my family (unfortunately, it isn’t often), Maggie will be well.  And perhaps my sister and brother-in-law will have had their first taste of wondering where their child has gone and wishing for a less ear-shattering situation for both themselves and their child.  Not that I would wish an ear infection on any family…but perhaps they’ll somehow see that the baby silently rocking in the swing will not always be so silent.

This entry was posted in Tara's Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keeping My Cool Under Ear-Shattering Circumstances

  1. Cara Porter says:

    Hey girl. Have you tried taking Maggie to the chiropractor? Breslyn has had 12 ear infections since November but since taking her to the chiropractor, we have kept them at bay and she is doing sooooo much better. He has worked wonders for her. We were told we would have to get her tubes as well but it turns out we haven’t had to. Yay! We go to Dr. Ingle (right on Jebavy Dr.) and he is a wonderful Christian who is a father of two young boys too. Just a thought….

Leave a Reply

