Seeing Red (Hearts!)

The sweet ladies in my husband’s office don’t know it yet, but I hope to talk them into celebrating Valentine’s Day with my kids.  I think Maggie would be pretty excited about making a card holder and some Valentines. And of course we should make some treats!  So I’ve been skimming other blogs in search of ideas.

It turns out that I’m not the only mom who is seeing red.  Valentine’s Day ideas are popping up on blogs everywhere!  I think it’s because taking down glitzy, sentimental Christmas decor creates a dismal void.  (Especially when, like me, you live surrounded by three feet of snow!!!)  We all feel the need to look forward and try to avoid the post-Christmas let-down.

Anyhow, I am definitely ready to make a couple of treats from No Fuss Fabulous.  I would love to have Maggie help make Chocolate Dipped Krispie Valentine Treats like these:

I’d also like to have her make these Kissable Valentine’s Treats (finally!).  I posted about these last year, excited to make what looked like an easy sweet to assemble.  But I must have run out of time…

And then there are darling, easy (as reported!)  candy cane hearts, whose idea and instructions are found at Little Birdie Secrets, that might make nice treats for daycare.

I would also love to help Walt make this dump truck from No Time For Flashcards.  With a few changes, it would be an adorable card holder! Other sweet activities I’m interested in doing with the kids from this site include a Valentine’s Day worthy Heart H for Letter of the Week, and a Be Still My Heart “stained glass” hanging heart.  I would show you some pictures of these activities, but the images are too large for me to save and share. You’ll have to go to the links and see for yourself!

And then (in my dreams!) I might try to “whip up” a darling love bird like the one below, as seen at Molly Chicken.

I am sure Maggie would enjoy making a Love Bug Valentine’s Day Card Holder (scroll down at this link to see photo and instructions) as seen at Danielle’s Place.

And for cards, I think I’ll have Maggie make laced Valentine’s Day hearts as seen at Amazing Moms.  I like this activity in particular because Maggie enjoys threading beads on laces with one of her toys, and she really enjoyed making fall necklaces for the office staff mentioned above.

Whew!  We’ll see how much the kids and I accomplish.  I wouldn’t hold your breath…But it’s so fun to have an archive of possibilities, isn’t it?

This entry was posted in Crafts, Food, Seasons, Tara's Ramblings, Valentine's Day and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Seeing Red (Hearts!)

  1. Audrey Beauvais says:

    As a newbie (not even launched yet) to blogging I clicked on your food site. My slant is a bit different. As a nutritionist I am offering a class on HeartSmart Snacks. You might want to rethink your ‘treats'; there are lots of good and good-for-you treats your husband co-workers might enjoy as well AND they will live longer and worker harder, too. Just some food for thought.

  2. Audrey Beauvais says:

    Hmm, a few typos there; sorry.

  3. happiestmommies says:

    Audrey, I would love to see some of your snack ideas. Could you send a link to your blog when you get it up and running? I am game for trying healthier treats!

  4. Annie says:

    Can’t wait to see your valentines! Way to think ahead! Love your blog banner!

  5. Susan says:

    Live longer and work harder? Really? When is it okay to have a treat if not on a holiday? Especially Valentine’s Day. I know you want to be PC, Tara with the kind response, but I’m for the cuteness. The healthiest idea is not to eat it or a non food suggestion (which you have listed many as well.) I think the snacks are adorable and easy for kids to make…a winning combo.

    If Audrey’s healthy choices are just as cute and easy…I will take it all back.

Leave a Reply

